My LFX Mentorship Week 8 Experience with Jaeger

My LFX Mentorship Week 8 Experience with Jaeger

Hello everyone, My name is Kiriti a 3rd-year student from IIITM, Gwalior. Currently, I am an LFX mentee under the CNCF- Jaeger. And till now completed 8 weeks in this mentorship program. In this blog, I am going to share my experience and the challenges I faced from Week 5 to Week 8. Didn't read about my first 4 weeks' journey? Read Here

About Jaeger

Jaeger, inspired by Dapper and OpenZipkin, is a distributed tracing system released as open source by Uber Technologies. It is used for monitoring and troubleshooting microservices-based distributed systems, including:

  • Distributed context propagation

  • Distributed transaction monitoring

  • Root cause analysis

  • Service dependency analysis

  • Performance/latency optimization

Week 5

After week 4 we thought to start the critical path implementation. We also thought to implement the algorithm in the front end itself instead of the backend. Curious to know what is Critical Path? Check out this. This week I made a new PR to implement the Critical Path algorithm and implemented the algorithm somehow.

Week 6

After reviewing Mentor Yuri Shkuro said, "It requires a lot of Unit Tests". And practically speaking I never wrote unit tests. So I started learning about Unit testing this week. I read a lot of blogs and watched a few tutorials about unit testing. And I wrote unit tests for my project for better understanding. And then I began writing unit tests for the critical path algorithm, with the guidance of Mentor Yash Sharma, who helped me improve the quality of the unit tests significantly.

Week 7

This week we thought to handle the edge cases of the Critical Path Algorithm. I modified the algorithm to handle the edge cases and added more unit tests. This week I learned a lot, not a new technology but I learned how to write better quality code which is more understandable and maintainable. As I am a beginner sometimes I wrote redundant codes. But mentors reviewed my changes and helped me to write better-quality code. And we also thought to start a critical path visualization PR to avoid blocking the workflow when Algorithm PR is waiting for review.

Week 8

This Week I worked simultaneously on both PRs. And finally, Algorithm PR is ready to merge and is under review. And I am not able to do much work as I am in travelling this week. And in the upcoming weeks after the merging of these 2 PRs maybe I should do some documentation changes and explain the Critical Path implementation in a blog.

Are you curious to know about my work?

Conclusion

In the upcoming weeks, I should make some documentation changes to explain the CriticalPath feature. And maybe also to work on stretch goals.

Thank you for reading this blog😊.

Hoping that sharing my experience gives you valuable insights.

I will back with a new blog

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn, Twitter and Instagram.